Skip To Main Content

Behavioral Health & School Safety

The Behavioral Health and School Safety Department is committed to supporting the educational achievement and social emotional health of all children. Each division within Behavioral Health and School Safety is designed to assist in creating a positive learning environment conducive to safe and academic growth, as well as social and emotional development.

The Behavioral Health and School Safety Department is responsible for and supports students, schools and parents in the areas of attendance, open enrollment, parent & community concerns, school health services, Section 504, Social Emotional Learning Specialists and programs, student behavior/ discipline, student disciplinary hearings, and student intervention & support services.

Department Info


Assistant Superintendent of Behavioral Health and School Safety
Dr. Louis Laffitte Jr

Director of Social and Emotional Learning and Mental Health Services 
Andrea Arellano

Director of Student and Family Support Services
Sarah Balder

Director for System of Care Center
Denis Parcells

Coach for Multi-tiered System of Support and School Culture
Lydia Horstman

Coordinator of Title IX
Frances Dewindt

Lead Nurse
Chelsea Dewitt

Student Services Administrative Secretary
Juana Hernandez